Life of a Blogger – Style Fashion Etc.

JourneYoung: Your ultimate motivation.
Srish : Not being boring. I just can’t stand to lead a normal life. I can’t imagine myself being the 9 to 5 job person, though everybody is entitled to their own lifestyle choices.
But I am more into doing something different and my blog has given me a vast pool of opportunities. Even though I am doing a regular job, I have my blog as an escape from the monotonous day-to-day life. I feel so grateful to have something all of my own, kind of a small business 🙂
JY: When was it you felt victorious!
Srish: My first Cosmopolitan feature gave me that feeling! It has always been one of my favorite magazines and seeing myself on the pages of Cosmopolitan certainly took my breath away and all the effort felt worth it. 



Style Fashion Etc. at the Wills India Fashion Week
JY: What was the scratch you started with?
Srish: When I started with my blog, I remember I used my phone for my very first outfit post. It was bad quality but I was so proud. I never thought I would get such a great response from my readers and that kept me motivated and I worked harder on improving the quality of my blog and the pictures. Today after 4 years of blogging, I have invested in a professional dslr, a couple of lenses and have come a far way from where I started. But I will always remember, it was my readers who have taken me to such heights. If they wouldn’t have read and responded, I would have been stuck at the same level and eventually might have stopped. I am very thankful for everybody’s support, more than they probably will ever know!
JY: Your closest to heart moment/piece of art/ work memory.
Srish: My collaboration with Lakme Absolute Salon! We filmed the whole process of getting my haircut and color and I worked day and night to edit the video myself. It was a great learning experience of what goes into post-production and fortunately, I guess I did well because that video got over 33,000 views!
 
JY: When you feel that you are falling, what pulls you up?
Srish: It’s not what, it’s who. My blog partner and closest friend, Aman has been my constant support through thick and thin. 
There were lots of time I got frustrated with handling my blog, job and personal life but he was always there to cheer me up and to make me realise that I am lucky enough to have all three to manage, not everyone gets to live their dream and pursue their passion.
JY: When or How you found your thrust, share an incident may be?
Srish: I was working as a fashion designer in one of India’s most reputed export house and while it was working out fine on the job front, it consumed all my time and my blog suffered a lot. I felt like giving up on the blog once and for all even though I loved it.
But then the Cosmopolitan feature happened “Meet India’s Personal Style Heroes” and I was astonished how my job had almost made me throw away something so amazing! 
I immediately resigned before the job could do more damage to my creative bend and started blogging full time and looking for a job that would allow me to spare some time for my blog. I have finally found the balance after I joined Pernia’s Pop up Shop as a fashion stylist and now I continue to blog on StylefashionEtc.in and enjoy the best of both worlds! 
Touch wood!
JY: One thing funny about your work or share an experience may be?
Srish: I decided to film this hair tutorial outdoors in a park. I thought it would be a nice change and we decided to shoot really early around 5 am so that no one would be around to disturb. We planned everything and went to the shoot location only to find out hundreds of people enjoying their morning walks and jogs! 
We still went ahead and shot the video but it was so funny when people just stopped their walks to stare at the crazy lady doing her hair in public and shooting it! It was hilarious, and it took us almost 3 hours to shoot a 3 minute video.
JY: Any interesting hobby you want to share?
Srish: I love decorating. I sometimes feel like I want to be an interior decorator but then no one can have it all, right? So, I just feed my inner decorator by fixing up my place everytime I move to a new place. I recently moved to my first very own flat and I am taking my time decorating every single room. So, basically styling anything living or non-living is my hobby 😛
JY: Which city you belong to?
Srish: I am from Patna, Bihar. My family still lives there. I moved to Delhi to pursue my higher studies and since then I have been living here.
JY: What is the big plan?
Srish: Well, I certainly want to start something on my own after few years. It might be a label, a brand, a styling agency or something completely different. I don’t want to plan my life right now, what would be the surprise element then!
Leave a Reply

