Playing Actor!

Suhail Nayyar

JourneYoung: Your ultimate motivation.

Suhail : As long as there is a need to express, there are actors but I’m still finding that “Ultimate Motivation”. I just love to act, that’s all I know. Love to perform. I love the feeling of getting transformed into someone else, playing different characters, learning lines, makeup, improvising, entering the set, catching the light!!

JY : When was it you felt victorious!
Suhail : When Indian cricket team won the world cup 2011 (Laughs)
Honestly, when I got selected at the FTII, it was a dream come true or maybe the first step achieved. Felt similarly when my first TV commercial came out, my family had no clue about it and my father saw it while watching a cricket match. He immediately called me with a numb voice and said, “Great job Beta, “Jai Mata Di” and I am proud of you. I guess that will always be the greatest victory for any son.
JY : What was the scratch you started with?
Suhail : A mirror. Replaced it with a camera.
JY : Your closest to heart moment/piece of art/ work memory.
Suhail : I did a play with Manav Kaul at the end of our first year at FTII, “Gorakh”. The play travelled too. We did 8-10 shows at various places in Pune. In January 2013, we got an opportunity to perform the play at NDA. Performing “Gorakh” at the National Defence Academy was an amazing experience. Such an enthralling sight to see an auditorium filled with an audience of 2000 cadets and officers, just to witness you and your show. Plus, Air Marshal KS Gill and The National Anthem, in the end, was icing on the cake.
 
JY : When you feel that you are falling, what pulls you up?
Suhail : It may sound cliche but a quote from Sylvester Stallone’s “Rocky Balboa”, i.e, “It ain’t about how hard you hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done.” Followed by some inspirational music.
 
JY : When or How you found your thrust, share an incident may be?
Suhail : I was a very dull and lanky kid at school. I was terrified of bunking classes for the longest time. Had very few friends. Although, I used to dance and do stuff like mimicry but in closed settings. Stage frightened me. But it all changed in the 11th grade when I gathered the courage and actually stepped on to the school stage. I discovered that I love performing. The chain of school level performances began. I used to Act, Dance, Play Octopad, Keyboards, Drums. Won prizes at the school level and zonal level. I gained self-confidence. Got appreciation, even from the Principal of my school. Got popularity too. Now when I look back I find those performances very superficial and amateur but that’s how I found my thrust. Those performances struck the first nail in carving my dream.
 
JY : Any interesting hobby you want to share?
Suhail : I dance. I play instruments. I write Stories, Poetry. I shoot videos then edit them. Amateur Magic tricks. Capoeira.
 
JY : Which city you belong to?
Suhail : I’m like a chameleon when it comes to adapting with my habitat. But friends say I’m a Delhi boy. (Laughs)
 
JY : What is the big plan?
Suhail : Very simple. To act in Films. Getting to do what I love the most and getting paid for it.
 
xx journeYoung
Leave a Reply

