Sidharth Behera’s Journey to BARCIERGE

journeYoung : Your ultimate motivation?
Sidharth Behera : Indian market is known for being followers of international trends in various sectors so my ultimate motivation or goal would be to change this perspective of Indian as well as international market, this change would not just be about mixology but to some extent even about hospitality sector, I want to change the tagname attached with mixology in India from mere followers to the innovators. 

 

 

Sidharth Behera – Mixologist and Owner at Barcierge

 

JY: When was it you felt victorious?

Sidharth : After every drink or recipe being appreciated I feel victory, but along with it comes the zest to climb more mountains and to achieve my ultimate goal. With every battle won victory becomes a mere step to moving further, my ultimate goal would be my equivalence to feeling victorious until then victory is just a progression and not an achievement.

JY : What was the scratch you started with? 
Sidharth : Giving technical pillars of support to my passion to create something new and doing tons and tons of research.

JY : Your closest to heart moment/piece of art/ work memory? 
Sidharth: All the new recipes I create are very close to my heart; one cannot be placed above others or justified as a work memory. I would prefer giving more credits to ones that didn’t work or were less appreciated because those were the ones that made me stronger, taught me more and pushed me further.

JY : When you feel that you are falling, what pulls you up?
Sidharth : My dream is like my baby and when you are in that situation you can’t afford to stumble and let your dream go away, you need to pull yourself up for your dream to turn into reality. 6. When or How you found your thrust, share an incident may be? The day I worked on the initial plan for Barcierge , the very same day I met my then to be- wife who came up with the very same idea, the sheer belief in the concept and the synchronicity of this incidence was what made me believe in the idea and paved the path towards making Barcierge a reality and not just an idea.

 JY : One thing funny about your work or share an experience may be? 
Sidharth : In every profession people say,” if u don’t enjoy work then it becomes boring”. And when I say that work for me is fun, I have been misquoted for it and it has been taken in a very literal sense. There has been a perception that my job is to socialize and enjoy events and ofcourse “Get paid to drink”, but there is a completely different side to my profession than what has been percieved by people around me. The reality is that there goes a lot of effort in making sure that my work is fun for sure but not for me instead for people who have come to enjoy those lovely drinks made by me.

JY : Which city you belong to? 
Sidharth : My roots are from Bhubaneswar, Orissa, but my upbringing in various cities gave me the opportunity to experience different cultures of India. As of now I put up in Delhi.

JY : What is the big plan? 
Sidharth : As shared before, my ultimate motivation is my big plan!

https://www.facebook.com/Barcierge
Leave a Reply

