INTERVIEW with Charu Gaur – Head Editor Fashion and Lifestyle at #fame AND Editor at Lakmé School of Style

journeYoung : Your ultimate motivation?

Charu : I think Robyn pretty much summarises my life’s goals in her song Monument where she says “So that when the moment comes, I can say I did it all with love.” It’s rare that I do things I don’t want to do. If I am doing this, it must come out of love.

jY : When was it you felt victorious?

Charu : Whenever I touched lives through my work. I believe fashion, just like any form of popular culture, has the power to change, to move people, to motivate to be better, that’s why I made “Celebrate Your Colour” and “Kanyadaan” films for School of style. 

jY : What was the scratch you started with?

Charu : Under my imaginary Burberry trench there’s a cotton sari clad social worker.

jY : Your closest to heart moment/piece of art/ work memory

Charu : The few years I spent working under R. Balki at Lowe were most memorable. Although I didn’t report to him directly, I still learnt a lot about communication and writing through his work. He once gave me the best piece of advice, “don’t EVER underestimate your audience, they’re smarter than we give them credit for.”

jY : When you feel that you are falling, what pulls you up?

Charu : Something new to obsess over.

jY : When or How you found your thrust, share an incident may be?

Charu :  A few years ago, I knew I had to quit advertising and do fashion, but I wasn’t 20 I was 29, so failure wasn’t an option. For me it was like if I want to quit a career I have worked hard to build, I better do the next thing right. Thankfully the universe agreed with my plan.

jY : One thing funny about your work or share an experience may be?

Charu : I’m the queen of foot in mouth. It’s really hard to point out just one thing.

jY : Any interesting hobby you want to share?

Charu :I collect a fashion magazine from each country I travel too.  I am obsessed with traveling. If I don’t travel at least twice-thrice a year, I am a very angry soul. This year’s highlight was the drive from Portland to San Francisco. I even made a video about it – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0cdRivy0u0w

jY : Which city you belong to?

I am  from Bareilly.

jY : What is the big plan?

Charu : Create my own creative monument. A digital platform that will change how we look at fashion content – I’m betting on #fame and Runway Square to achieve that.

 

 

Leave a Reply

