Conversation with Saksham Karwal – Co Founder – SeenIt – India’s Hottest Fashion Community

journeYoung : Your ultimate motivation?
Saksham: To successfully solve a problem millions of people face every single minute of their lives. And the current problem I’m working on is one I faced myself – Remember the time you were watching a movie or tv show and said to yourself, “That is a great dress! Where can I buy that?” before the movie ends and you forget all about it. Wouldn’t it be amazing if you had experts to hunt it down for you, while you’re still watching? That’s the premise and motivation behind the SeenIt!

jY : When was it you felt victorious?
Saksham: There are small wins everyday that I love to celebrate. The last such one was when a 16-year-old girl personally messages me saying how much SeenIt has changed her life and how she simply loves being a part of the community!

jY : What was the scratch you started with?
Saksham:
My Co-Founder (Vedanta) and I were watching a James Bond movie when suddenly Vedanta asked me, “hey, where can I get the sunglasses Daniel Craig is wearing?” I gave him the most obvious response anyone could, “Google it!”
Vedanta really wanted those sunglasses so he decided to search for them on google. Well, he got a million results in an instant but on opening each of those he realised none of the search results actually led him to the product he wanted to buy — he ended up browsing random blogs in the UK or retailers in the US who didn’t have the product in stock for the past many years. What a glorious waste of time!

But this set us thinking. Searching for fashion and lifestyle products is a pain and no one seemed to be solving for it, especially given that the size of the online lifestyle market in India is expected to grow to US$45 billion by 2020.

What next? We spoke to our potential target users (females in the 18–34 age group) and realised that every girl today sits with a ton of screenshots from Pinterest and Instagram of the things they want to buy. They end up doing nothing with these screenshots because there is nothing that they can do apart from asking a few friends on Whatsapp or Facebook.

That’s how the idea of creating a visual search engine powered simultaneously by tech and humans came about.

jY : Your closest to heart moment/piece of art/ work memory.
Saksham: A sticker that one of our interns got made for everyone in the office. She handed this to us on her last day. It read “What I love about my office is who I work with <3”
seenit-postcard

jY : When you feel that you are falling, what pulls you up?
Saksham:
Exercise! As Justin Kan (founder of justin.tv and twitch) says, “Fitness is the first step to greatness!”

jY : When or How you found your thrust, share an incident may be?
Saksham: I wanted to get into one of the IITs and joined coaching classes after Class 10 but very soon realised that it was not my cup of tea. I realised that whatever I had to do in life, it had to be something I enjoyed. Now that I’m doing something I really enjoy (solving a personal problem while trying to build a community) it’s like there is automatic thrust all the time!
jY : One thing funny about your work or share an experience may be?
Saksham: I was at an exhibition when two girls were talking about their outfits asking each other for advice and I politely jumped in to tell one of them that she wasn’t wearing a kimono but rather it was a cape. As expected, she did not take too nicely to a guy correction her fashion terms. She snubbed me but when I explained to her the difference between a cape and a kimono, even her friend agreed with me. It’s just hilarious to see girls zapped when I’m talking to them about fashion and it begins to dawn on them that this guy actually knows his shit.

Think of it the way guys would be dumbfounded if a girl knew more about their favourite football club than them!

jY : What is the big plan?

Saksham: To be THE destination for kind of lifestyle dilemma in the world.You

You dont know what to buy – ask the SeenIt community
You dont know where to buy – ask the SeenIt community
You dont know whether to buy or not – ask the SeenIt community
You dont know which of the outfits to carry – ask the SeenIt community
You dont know how to pair an outfit – ask the SeenIt community

 

xx

SeenIt x journeYoung

 

Leave a Reply

