Conversation with Aman – CLAYMEN OBJECTS & SCULPTURES

journeYoung – What inspired you to start a creative business like this.

I already had a creative business much before Claymen. I studied 2 years of fashion and 3 years of graphic and information design thereafter from London College of Communication. I worked in London for a year and then set up my own design studio ‘Infomen’ in London in 2005 and ‘Infonauts’ in New Delhi in 2009, which I continue to run from my Delhi Space. style comprises quirky characters and iconic forms, which has drawn the attention of the viewers to the pages of many international publications including Harvard Business publications, The Times newspaper, The Wall Street Journal, and many more. 

Over the past few years I increasingly gravitated towards ‘clay’, the most common and ancient medium used by humans to create everyday objects. Clay added a new dimension to my work. With this medium I began to explore the third dimension, creating small clay sculptures that were inspired by my surroundings and the people living in them. I called them claymen.
Claymen was my personal project and wanted to keep it for myself. However, it did turn into a business.

journeYoung – You set a great example of back to basics products with a polish of modernity to it. What business opportunities you foresee.
People form a mental and emotional connect with my pieces and therefore they buy them. They are affordable collectibles as compared to high-end art. Till the time people make a connection with my pieces it should be fine. 

journeYoung – Such business brings the Indian artisans to the frontline which is commendable. What kind of exposure have they seen developing your products?
Initially, I used to make the hand-molded sculptures myself now we are a small team. There are a couple of artisans and the rest have learned on the job. Everyone in the team is skilled and hands-on. We have an open studio space along with a gallery and a shop. All the visitors can see the work in progress and they end up interacting with our team, which gives them a first-hand exposure.


journeYoung – How did you start to encourage people to buy Made in India products? What made the business click?

Internationally we are known for our textiles and crafts but not design. India is mostly a production hub when it comes to designed objects. I have a certain design language and aesthetic that I have developed over the past 20 years of being in the creative field. People buy into the language and the forms. Anything unique can sustain for longer when done at a right pace and I think the business clicks because I don’t really operate it as business. 


What is the big plan?
No big plans for me. I have never had a big plan. I just like to take small and comfortable steps. When an interesting opportunity comes I take it on otherwise I don’t. 

Leave a comment